Who does they not know, the Pistenkuh, Burkhard and Sabine Koch – today’s offroad influencer. For many years, Sabine and Burkhard travel with SUVs and 4X4 trucks around the world. They share their experiences and explore the last 4X4 adventures on Earth for all of us. In countries like Africa, Australia, Spain, Italy, Romania (Transylvania) and many more. Now you can travel for a change with the snow groomer Defender from 4WARD4X4.

They produce off-road travel guides and adventure films and design merchandising articles.

At the beginning of March we received a call from Burkhard Koch, he wanted to have a Land Rover Defender rebuilt by us and of course technically optimized by us, so that the “Pistenhuh Defender” on the adventure travel of Sabine and Burkhard no defects succumbs. He also wanted to have some ENGAGE4X4 products installed to equip the car for tougher conditions.

The piste cow Defender and the typical technical problems
Burkhard bought the car unseen, a white Defender of the Spanish Telecommunications Company. The condition had come down accordingly.

  • Driver seat defective
  • Interior ailing
  • Underbody (frame, axle housing extremely corroded
  • The technical condition of the engine was not the best
  • Rear crossbar was sawn and corroded
  • Wheel bearings
  • Swivel bearing housing
  • wheel hub
  • stub axle
  • gear shaft
  • floating axles
  • Radmitnehmer
  • Complete brake system
  • Parts of the electrical system
  • lighting… and much more had to be renewed and repaired.

The Defender conversion of the Pistenkuh-Landy

We developed a concept or a small specification sheet for the requirements of the vehicle and began gradually to revamp the car technically. To this end, a few technical ENGAGE4X4 products should be installed to equip the Defender for the toughest terrain and off-road use. Sabine and Burkhard want to travel by car as lightly and spartanly as possible, to keep all simple as possible.

We have built the Pistenkuh Defender in different packages, the chassis package contains the ENGAGE4X4 track chassis with heavy-duty suspension bushings and the handlebar kit. This means +25 mm lift + 30 mm more axle articulation off-road.

The Landy was also equipped with a vehicle protection package. Especially on tough off-road tours in the forests and mountains of the cape areas and / or the Pyrenees, the protection of the sensitive parts on the vehicle is absolutely one of the most important conversion measures of an expedition vehicle. We first mounted differential skid plates to get ahead on the rutted paths with deep ruts. The underrun protection reliably protects the steering linkage. Flank protection and fuel radiator protection were also an important feature for Burkhard.

The mountain package consists of the popular and TÜV-tested ENGAGE4X4 round tube bumper with rotating eyebolts, as well as the new NOVAWINCH Pro 12.5 with runb 5300 kg traction and a transmission brake. At the rear of a rotatable hill eye was mounted.

Next is the expedition package, which consists of an ENGAGE4X4 roof rack, Mantec snorkel and the ENGAGE4X4 filter kit.

The Pistenkuh-Landy Design by Denis Oswald and Burkhard

The car was designed by Burkhard and Denis Oswald (owner of film workshop Denis Oswald). Denis specializes in the foiling of vehicles. He is particularly fond of SUVs. For the Pistenkuh-Landy, Denis has had a special foil (Lila matt) specially printed for the foiling of the car.

Defender für Offroad Reisen von der Pistenkuh

Defender Pistenkuh

ENGAGE4X4 winch bumper with Nova Winch Pro

ENGAGE winch bumper

ENGAGE4X4 skid plate with tubular winch bumper

ENGAGE4X4 skid plate

ENGAGE4X4 differential skid plate guard

Diff guard front

Land Rover Defender ENGAGE4X4 Track suspension

ENGAGE4X4 suspension

ENGAGE4X4 Pistenkuh Defender

Defender conversion

Wer kennt sie nicht, die Pistenkuh, Burkhard und Sabine Koch – Offroad Influencer von heute. Seit vielen Jahren reisen Sabine und Burkhard mit Geländewagen und 4X4 LKW´s um die Welt. Sie berichten von ihren Erlebnissen und erkunden für uns alle die letzten 4X4 Abenteuer auf unserer Erde. In Ländern wie Afrika, Australien, Spanien, Italien, Rumänien (Transsylvanien) und vielen mehr. Jetzt reisen Sie zur Abwechslung mal mit dem Pistenkuh Defender von 4WARD4X4.

Sie produzieren unterwegs Offroad Reiseführer und Abenteuerfilme und entwerfen Merchandising-Artikel.

Anfang März erhielten wir einen Anruf von Burkhard Koch, er wollte einen Landrover Defender von uns umgebaut und natürlich von uns technisch optimiert haben, damit der Pistenkuh Defender auf den Abenteuer Reisen von Sabine und Burkhard keinen Defekten erliegt. Dazu wollte er noch einige ENGAGE4X4 Produkte eingebaut haben, um den Wagen für härtere Bedingungen zu rüsten.

Der Pistenkuh Defender und die typischen technischen Probleme

Burkhard kaufte den Wagen ungesehen. Ein weißer Defender der spanischen Telekommunikation-Gesellschaft. Der Zustand war dementsprechend runter gekommen.

  • Fahrer Sitz defekt
  • Innenausstattung marode
  • Unterboden (Rahmen, Achsgehäuse extrem korrodiert)
  • Der technische Zustand des Motors war nicht der bBste
  • Hecktraverse war zersägt und korrodiert
  • Radlager
  • Schwenklagergehäuse
  • Radnabe
  • Achsstummel
  • Getriebewelle
  • Steckachsen
  • Radmitnehmer
  • Bremsanlage komplett
  • Teile der Elektrik
  • Beleuchtung

…und vieles mehr mussten erneuert und instand gesetzt werden.

Der Defender Umbau für den Pistenkuh-Landy

Wir erstellten ein Konzept oder ein kleines Lastenheft für die Anforderungen des Fahrzeuges und begannen den Wagen schrittweise technisch auf Vordermann zu bringen. Dazu sollten noch einige technische ENGAGE4X4 Produkte verbaut werden, um den Wagen für härteste Einsätze im Gelände und auf Pisten zu rüsten. Sabine und Burkhard wollen mit dem Wagen so leicht und spartanisch wie möglich reisen.

Den Pistenkuh Defender haben wir in verschieden Paketen aufgebaut. Das Fahrwerks-Paket enthält das ENGAGE4X4 Track Fahrwerk mit Schwerlast-Fahrwerksbuchsen und dem Lenkstangen-Kit. Das bedeutet +25 mm Lift + 30 mm mehr Achsartikulation im Gelände.

Der Landy wurde auch mit einem Fahrzeugschutz-Paket ausgestattet. Besonders auf harten Geländetouren in den Wäldern und Bergen der Karparten und oder den Pyrenäen ist der Schutz der sensiblen Teile am Fahrzeug absolut eines der wichtigsten Umbaumaßnahmen eines Expeditionsfahrzeugs. Wir haben zunächst Differential Gleitschutzplatten montiert um auf den zerfurchten Wegen mit tiefen Spurrillen vorwärts zu kommen. Der Unterfahrschutz schützt zuverlässig das Lenkgestänge. Flankenschutz und Kraftstoffkühlerschutz waren ebenfalls ein wichtiges Feature für Burkhard.

Das Bergepaket besteht aus der beliebten und TÜV geprüften ENGAGE4X4 Rundrohr-Stoßstange mit drehbaren Bergeösen, sowie der neuen NOVAWINCH Pro 12.5 mit rund 5300 kg Zugkraft und einer Getriebebremse. Am Heck wurde eine drehbare Bergeöse montiert.

Weiter folgt das Expeditions-Paket, das besteht aus einem ENGAGE4X4 Dachträger, Mantec-Schnorchel und den ENGAGE4X4 Filter-Kit.

Das Pistenkuh-Landy Design von Denis Oswald und Burkhard

Der Wagen wurde von Burkhard und Denis Oswald (Inhaber von Folien Werkstatt Denis Oswald) designt. Denis ist spezialisiert auf das Folieren von Fahrzeugen, besonders gerne foliert er Geländewagen. Für den Pistenkuh-Landy hat Denis eigens für die Folierung des Wagens eine spezielle Folie (Lila matt) drucken lassen.

Defender für Offroad Reisen von der Pistenkuh

Defender Pistenkuh

4WARD4X4 Seilwindenstoßstange mit Nova Winch

ENGAGE4X4 Stoßstange

ENGAGE4X4 Unterfahrschutz und Rundrohrstoßstange für Land Rover Defender mit TÜV

ENGAGE4X4 Unterfahrschutz

Land Rover Defender Diff-Schutz für Pistenkuh Defender

Diffschutz Vorderachse

Land Rover Defender ENGAGE4X4 Tra

ENGAGE4X4 Fahrwerk

ENGAGE4X4 Pistenkuh Defender

Defender Umbau